Honda e wins best electric car at the Women’s World Car of the Year (WWCOTY) awards

The jury of the Women’s World Car of the Year (WWCOTY) have announced the winners in each of nine categories including the best electric car, where the Honda e took the top honours. The winners of each category represent excellence in their segments based on safety, comfort, technology and value for the money.

The £26,600 Honda e is the Japanese carmaker’s first completely electric car aimed at city use. This neat looking little car features a 35.5kWh battery offering a 137 mile (220km) range making it the perfect around-town short-distance zero-emissions electric car. With a 50kW rapid charger it can be charged up to 80 percent in just 31 minutes. The Honda e will accelerate from 0-62mph (0-110kph) in just 8.3 seconds making it a snappy little mover.

This is the eleventh year for WWCOTY which features a team of fifty motoring journalists from 38 countries spanning five continents judging the event. It is the only jury in the automotive world composed exclusively of women. The event was created by New Zealand motoring journalist, Sandy Myhre, in 2009. She is currently honorary president while Marta García serves as executive president.

The objective of the awards is to choose the best cars of the year. These are not ‘women’s cars’ because there is no such thing. Instead, cars are chosen based on the principles that guide all consumers including safety, quality, price, design, driving dynamics and environmental impacts.

Eligible vehicles must have been launched between January and December 2020. As in previous years, votes were certified by the independent auditor Grant Thornton New Zealand.

This year, voting was more complicated due to the pandemic, which limited each juror’s ability to drive. Despite the challenges, jurors made an extra effort to get behind the wheel of these vehicles to evaluate them in time for voting, and the Honda e stole the show.

One more round of voting remains. Jurors will now choose the Best Car of the Year from among the nine category winners. The results will be announced on March 8, International Women’s Day.

Ian Osborne
Ian Osborne
Editor-in-Chief at ElectricDrives

Related Articles